Unit 25 Wyoming

bmf0713

WKR
Drew tags for area 25 antelope. It's my first time hunting antelope and my first time in Wyoming. I'm an Iowa deer hunter and needs some tips if anyone is willing to help. Thank you.

Murdy

WKR
I've only been out there once a few years ago, different unit, but I looked at 25 pretty seriously. As I recall, access is spotty. Definitely have a decent gps, and I'd highly recommend software from OnXmaps (gave me a lot of confidence and allowed me to find areas I could access. Do not rely on it or other maps for determining public roads (though if you can get one off a local government website, it's probably ok). Call the local BLM office/Sheriff/Highway Dept/whatever and try to confirm public roads and access before you get there. Basically, have a plan your confident in for land access; it'll save you a lot of consternation trying to figure it out on the go. Also, as a Midwest whitetail hunter, I did not truly appreciate the range I had to shoot at or the wind I ended up shooting in (a lot heavier than for a 45 yard shot in a cedar swamp). Be ready to shoot at 200 to 300 yards.

Good luck.

• Banned
OP
bmf0713

bmf0713

WKR
Yeah. I have a gps with onx maps chip. Also bought the GIS maps needed for the area and got road lists and maps off the county websites. Going to go through and highlight county roads on the GIS maps for easier navigation. Gonna practice shooting out to 300 yards also. What's the best way to find antelope? Should we just drive around on the roads and try to spot them or should we get out and hike in one of the bigger areas of public land and find a water source?

Murdy

WKR
I'm no expert, like I said, only did this once. I tried both, saw more driving around. I was out later in the season when the pressure was down so that could have had an impact. I'm out of the loop for the weekend, but if you have any questions, I'd be happy to share my limited knowledge next week.

wapitibob

WKR