Colorado Speed Goat Newbie

JBahr

Lil-Rokslider
Picked up a doe tag for Colorado Units 110, 111, 118, 119, 123, 124 Dec. 1-31. I have no Idea what to expect. I know last December there were plenty of huntable days during this period. Where should I start looking for antelope during this time?(Not looking for your go to spots... Just types of terrain during winter) Anyone familiar with these units? Looks like I'm limited to SWA's. Any success asking landowners permission with antelope?

I am completely new to antelope hunting, but I hear they are tasty if cared for properly. Any help would be much appreciated!

Be careful if using OnX maps. State land is not the same as State Wildlife Areas. A lot of the land listed on there as State Land is actually leased and you need the lease holder's permission prior to hunting there, or the penalties are the same as trespassing on private land.

If it is sunny and calm, they will be all over. If it is windy, look in any dips, depressions, ravines, etc.

pods8 (Rugged Stitching)

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Be careful if using OnX maps. State land is not the same as State Wildlife Areas. A lot of the land listed on there as State Land is actually leased and you need the lease holder's permission prior to hunting there, or the penalties are the same as trespassing on private land.

A clarification, you need permission of whomever holds the recreational lease which in many cases someone just has an agricultural lease and that means the state still holds the recreational lease and thus you need permission from the state not the agricultural lease holder. I inquired once about access to a 1square mile section of state land for 1 week, they wanted $500... needless to say I stuck to federal owned lands that week and lands leased by CPW from the state for hunting.