Wyoming Antelope Help

Sewall

Lil-Rokslider
Never killed an antelope so all I’m looking for is a legal lope to harvest. Im a non resident with zero points so I’m hoping y’all can help point me in the right direction to a Wyoming unit with public access requiring no points if possible. Looking to do a diy Hunt in public to save cost so getting an outfitter isn’t an option for me. I’ve researched some and I’m interested in unit 17 but I’m finding mixed reviews on public access. Thanks for the help!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Never killed an antelope so all I’m looking for is a legal lope to harvest. Im a non resident with zero points so I’m hoping y’all can help point me in the right direction to a Wyoming unit with public access requiring no points if possible. Looking to do a diy Hunt in public to save cost so getting an outfitter isn’t an option for me. I’ve researched some and I’m interested in unit 17 but I’m finding mixed reviews on public access. Thanks for the help!

I did the same thing your planning last year, except with 1/2 a point (I had one and partner had 0). People are not going to tell you where to go or what unit to pick. The best thing you can do is first find the units that you can draw using the Wyoming draw odds. Then make sure that those units have reasonable success rates. Then you can start looking at maps of those units and find out if they have public access options. My guess is once you have done this you will have narrowed it down to only a few units that check all those boxes. Pick the one thats the closest drive to you. From my experience if there is open country (not mountains) and your in Wyoming, there will be antelope.

wyosteve

WKR
I lived in area 17 for many years. There is minimal public land and it gets hit hard by hunters. Most private land in the unit is either leased to outfitters or charges trespass fees. Central Wyo., around Casper, Rawlins, Lander has lots of BLM, but I don't know about drawing odds.

FURMAN