Unit 59 Wyoming - when should I hunt?

philos

Super Moderator
Staff member
First I am new to the Rok slide site-been a member for a while but I think this is my first post. I saw mention of this site over at Kifaru
where I have been a member for years. Cool forum you have here.

I drew a Tag in 59 and am looking to schedule time to go. I have heard the opening is not the time to go.
I have seen this to be true on a Wyo mule deer hunt that opened on a Saturday-it was a circus of lazy road hunters and miscellaneous misfits.

I was thinking of being there for the opening day and if it looks too crazy I would just fish for a few days. I understand the kokanee
are running in Sept with hungry trout right behind and would love to try them for a day or two.

I would think the weekdays would be a little more calm. Season starts on the 20th of Sept-which is a Friday.

I was thinking of being there Friday and again if the unit is too active I was thinking I would just scout and fish until say Tuesday or so.

I would appreciate any feedback or suggestions.

philos

Carlin59

WKR
Welcome Philos, new guy here as well but I will share what I can.

I have never hunted 59, but have hunted around Casper for a long time. We used to get caught up in the opening weekend rush as well, and while technically the most nice heads are available at the start, as you mentioned the experience with road-hunters, crowds, etc. can leave something to be desired. Basically, our group has pushed back our hunt later and later, and it seems like the later in the season we go, the better the hunt (overall experience included).