To burn or not to burn? WY 12 pts

To burn or not to burn?

I’ve got 12 points going into the Wyoming 2018 antelope season.

To say I’m frustrated with Wyoming is an understatement. I’ve been applying for unit 114 for the last nine years exclusively and applying with the special tag the last three and I still can’t seem to cash in on a 114 tag.

I’m lookin for some solid advice on whether I should keep after it or jump ship for a different unit.

I’m certainly looking for a trophy antelope that will eclipse my current best Montana 82” buck I harvested by bow. I’ve got a dozen over p&y and will probably pack a rifle for this hunt. I fully realize it’s hunting but I’ve got so much invested in points and applications at this point that I can’t settle for any unit that doesn’t have some serious potential.

I’m from Wyoming and I’ve hunted/guided in several units but it’s been 13 years since then. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Anyone want to join?!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

wapitibob

WKR
Better check your info.

I have max points (12 for 2018) and can draw any hunt in the special draw. Anything over 8 was 100% for 114 special in 2017.
Max for 2017 (11) was 100% in the Regular.

Last edited:

FURMAN

WKR
If I had the patience to get 12 points I would be in Carbon County. I will be sticking to units I can draw with the special tag and 4 points.

OP
danmayland
Better check your info.

I have max points (12 for 2018) and can draw any hunt in the special draw. Anything over 8 was 100% for 114 special in 2017.
Max for 2017 (11) was 100% in the Regular.

Yea that’s what I thought also but I was wrong!!! I’ve put in for special last three years in a row for 114. I think I must have the worst draw luck ever :(

OP
danmayland
If I had the patience to get 12 points I would be in Carbon County. I will be sticking to units I can draw with the special tag and 4 points.