Can someone just tell me what broadheads to buy?

N2TRKYS

WKR
I've been using Thunderhead 100s since 1992 and have had no issues with them. They fly straight and hit the same as my field points.

Kilboars

WKR
I practice, 60 yards has been the max range that I shoot at. I don't think I would take a shot at something further than that just because I'm still new to archery (1< year).

Agree but its great for practicing to really show any faults in your shooting. With that said you may find yourself in need of a follow up shot at 60 yards one day.

Tag_Soup

WKR
It has been fairly well covered here, but i'll add my $0.02...

It is going to depend on what qualities are most important to you in a head. A few things to consider:

1) mechanicals are not legal in every state and can have deployment issues in some cases, but I would bet more deer are killed with them nation wide than fixed. Not my cup of tea, so I won't recommend them.
2) A mechanical that is poorly tuned will GENERALLY fly more true to field points than a fixed blade
3) "Barbed" broadheads are not legal in every state (angle less than 90 degrees to the shaft from the back edge of the blade)
4) Penetration on any head will be greatly reduced if the arrow is out of tune
5) Large cutting diameter heads will typically have less penetration. I prefer to stay under 1 1/4" cut diameter for mule deer and elk
6) In my personal experience, the majority of replaceable blade fixed heads do not spin test perfectly as often as fixed/non-replaceable blade heads.
7) your broadhead should be the same weight as the field points that you shoot with in general - since you are fairly new to this, i would try to stick with this until you know how to tune the different point weights.

Some good heads:

1) Shuttle T-locks - always spun well for me and have killed shit with them. Never failed me or had a head break when hitting ribs/offside shoulder