Arrow selection questions from a novice

brossman

FNG
Hi guys this will be my first season bow hunting. I am new to the archery world and after wrapping my head around the many options out there for bow setups I settled into a Hoyt Pro Defiant and have become quite confident in my shooting ability after months of practice.

Now my question is what arrow spine, insert and broad head weight would you guys recommend for mule deer and elk. Draw weight is currently 60 lbs with a length of 29".

Also since I am a diy type of guy what would you recommend cutting these arrows to, 28.25?

Thanks guys!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hokkaido

Banned
Just go to a bow shop have them set you up, too much wasting time on here with the endless various answers you're gonna get. You're basic setup for deer and elk at #60 will be a 340 arrow probably an inch shorter than your DL but they will measure you up right at the shop. You want your BH just shy of the rest and a lot of times that is an inch shorter than your draw, but no way to know for sure until they put that marked arrow on you're rest and have you draw it back.

You'll want your total arrow weight around 430gr or so and that is what your 28in 340 will come out at with 100gr head, but you can go with 125gr head, it doesn't matter much. 25 grains weighs the same as 25 postage stamps, the kind you used to lick. Foc will be slightly better but not enough to worry about, our good either way. Life will be easier if you can keep your speed above 260-270fps... should be a sweet little setup.

nito900rr

FNG
Hi guys this will be my first season bow hunting. I am new to the archery world and after wrapping my head around the many options out there for bow setups I settled into a Hoyt Pro Defiant and have become quite confident in my shooting ability after months of practice.