One or Both Eyes Open, By Jimmy Tippetts

Justin Crossley

Administrator
Staff member
attachment.php

Jimmy Tippetts (Slim Jim) knows his stuff when it comes to archery. This spring in bear camp I learned a lot while talking shooting techniques and gear with him. Along with his home state of Nevada, Slim Jim hunts, and competes in archery competitions all over the west. In his first (of hopefully many) Rokslide article, he talks about the benefits of shooting a bow with both eyes open. One or Both Eyes Open

attachment.php

Last edited by a moderator:

Btaylor

WKR
I shoot both open with recurve and one open with compound now. I was a reluctant hold out in making the switch to shooting a peep. When I switched from shooting a kisser to a peep I started shooting one open. With the kisser I shot both open. I have tried shooting both open with the peep but it is mentally distracting to my shot sequence. May give it another try after season.

Ryan Avery

Admin
Staff member
Great article Slim! For those of you that don't know, Jim is a beast! Glad to have you on the Rokslide team!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

robby denning

Administrator
Staff member
Jimmy. Very good article. I'm a strong left-eye dominant/right handed shooter. My accuracy peaked about a decade ago and I know my left eye dominance has a lot to do with that. I wish I would've had the guts to switch to a left-handed bow when I was a young man, it would've been so much easier. I've known about this problem for a long time. Your article clarified it quite a bit more. Don't know if I'll ever have time to switch it over at this point in my life. But thanks for making me think Jimmy.

MtnHunter

Lil-Rokslider