A newbie question with regard to arrow weight

vaeVictis

FNG
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to archery as a sport and for hunting, and I had some questions regarding arrow building/designing.

Currently shooting a 60lb Bowtech CPXL, draw length 30". Currently shooting some Easton Axis 5mm 300 spine that came with the bow, but I only have a few and I am pretty darn good at losing them! Got a good deal on some Black Eagle Spartans at 300 spine, planning on cutting them to 29" in length. My questions are as follows:

Should I go with adding the 75 grain brass inserts? With a 125 grain head, total arrow weight would be 515 grains.

If I don't use those, arrow weight is 440.

Which is better and why? Is it worth the trade off for kinetic energy vs momentum, or am I overthinking things completely?

Thanks!

2blade

WKR
According to Archers Advantage, if you cut those arrows to 29.5" and used the 75gr insert with 125gr head, it is perfectly spined. I find that correct spine is everything when it comes to accuracy and broadhead flight.

Beendare

WKR
Better? It depends on who you ask.

I like a heavier arrow for the addl performance on big elk size critters....and since I only shoot relatively short shots there are many advantages and no disadvantages. The one disadvantage to addl weight is a little more arc in trajectory. IME, it really only affects you on longer 50yd+ shots in relation to hunting. Guys shooting mule deer at longer ranges prefer a 400-440gr arrow rightfully so.

Many guys that use one setup for 3D and all around hunting like a middle of the raod arrow in the low 400 gr range...a good strategy.

There really is no right or wrong answer....and the type of hunting you do really dictates the "Better" part.

Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to archery as a sport and for hunting, and I had some questions regarding arrow building/designing.