Vane clearance

Shaverdan

FNG
Went out and shot the new set up found arrows to be corkscrewing a bit. Eventually found my vanes to be hitting my rest. I shoot cock vane up for cable clearance. Use a full length carbon express mayhem 350 with blazers and will have a 100 grain ramcat on it. I'm thinking low profile vanes are the answer, my brother has a bitz and said just give him the vanes and he will throw them on. I have very little experience with anything but blazers. Anyone have any suggestions?

Attachments

• A2777161-AF41-4E58-A587-C6F8B56D0278.jpg
    A2777161-AF41-4E58-A587-C6F8B56D0278.jpg
    20.1 KB · Views: 148
  • AAFCB686-4273-4D95-848A-BD9603DA3253.jpg
    AAFCB686-4273-4D95-848A-BD9603DA3253.jpg
    20.9 KB · Views: 156
Last edited:
In your bottom photo is how you nock the arrow ? Thats not cock vane up. Rest timing could be your issue if not set up properly

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

OP
S

Shaverdan

FNG
Sorry I meant to say cock out to clear the cables . The rest is a Ripcord SOS with the cable down to the bottom limb I thought it could be timing issues but then the vane marks are on the back of the rest as well which makes me think it's all the way down when the vanes pass it.

Are you sure your nock point and center shot are correct? What’s your draw weight and length? Under-spined arrows could have too much paradox and hit the rest.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sharp Things

Lil-Rokslider
I set up a fair number of bows and a trick I use is to film the shot (or use a tripod if alone) and use my smart phone in slow motion video and I amazing what you can see regarding fleshing clearance issues, You should be seeing fletching damage and rest wear if this has been a persistent problem. A little nock rotation may be the solution. Powder the rest to see where the impact is.

Beendare

WKR
Looks like your knocking point is too low.