broadheads supposed to hit way lower than field points?

dpidaho

FNG
hi there. i'm brand new here and this is my first attempt writing or asking something. i'm new at archery, but have rifle hunted for some time. I'm shooting good groups at 20 yrds, but when shooting broadheads they are consistently 5-6 inches low and to the left. both are 125 grain. I'm shooting a 10 yr old hoyt bow at 63 lbs using thunderhead broadheads. I know they're a cheaper broadhead. can that be my problem? would raising to 70 lbs bring them closer? I must confess I harvested a nice buck at 50 yrds last fall and the broadhead didn't drop at all. I hadn't a broadhead target yet at the time so just trusted the gentleman i purchased bow from that the broadheads would shoot right on with practice points. I was also wondering if keeping 125 gr field points and switching to 100 gr broadheads would bring them together? again, please excuse my ignorance here- I don't have any friends who bowhunt to bounce questions off . thanks .

Jbehredt

WKR
Search for the “Easton tuning guide” online. It helped me a great deal when I started working on my own setups. None of the ideas you bounced here are going to help.

N2TRKYS

WKR
I've been shooting Thunderhead 100s since I started bowhunting in 1992. I've never had any issues with them. My broadheads and field points have always hit the same place. Bow tuning may be your issue? I spin my arrows with the broadheads installed in my hand. I'm doing this to make sure they don't have a wobble.

Tilzbow

WKR
Raise your rest a little at a time until the two groups come together horizontally and then adjust your sight to bring both groups back to the same level as the bullseye. To help with the left impact we need to know what bow you’re shooting, right hand or left hand, the draw weight, your draw length, arrow spine, and arrow length.

Last edited:
OP
dpidaho

dpidaho

FNG