Arrow choice

J.G.

FNG
Hi guys, I’ve been reading the forums for several months but this is my first post. I am planning to go west and hunt elk/mule deer this fall for the 1st time. I have been hunting deer in Ohio for 15 years. I recently purchased a Hoyt Rx-1 turbo, sweet shooting bow. My old Easton axis arrows were spined for 60 lb, but I’m moving up to a 70 lb draw weight at 28” long. I’ve been researching what arrows to get. My 2top choices were the FMJ injexion and Victory VAP TKO. I have some concerns about the durability of the FMJ, so I was leaning towards the VAP, but then I found the Victory xtorsion. Has anyone had any experience with these? I will be shooting Iron Will broadbeads. Was thinking 100 gr, but with 3 AAE max stealth veins what spine should I choose from Victory? Their spine chart says 350, does that sound right with the turbo? And should I go up in broadhead weight to lighten the spine if I go up to 300’s? Thanks for your help,
Jim

Brendan

WKR
I shoot a similar setup to you. RX1 Ultra with Turbo cams at 29.25", 71lb draw weight. So, slightly slower bow, but slightly longer draw length.

My arrows are cut 27" carbon to carbon. I shoot 300 spine and they fly great with 50 grain brass inserts and 125 grain heads. I am starting to flirt with being too weak according to the software with 125 grain heads and 75 grain inserts, still need to test this combination - have the components, haven't built the arrows. In your case, I'd probably go with 300 spine, but you could go with 340 and use less tip weight or back off on the poundage if needed.

Arrows: I personally would say avoid 4mm shafts and stick with 5mm (.204" ID) arrows. The micro diameter are too much trouble in my opinion - lots of threads on this here, but some people love them. Other arrows to check out in addition to the Axis (shoot these now) are the Black Eagle Rampage (testing soon), and Victory RIP TKO (no personal experience).