Anyone have any Mule training DVD's, etc>?

aggieland

WKR
I'm new to the Equine world and have dove in head first Buying 3 saddle broke Mules. They need some work before heading into the backcountry. Just wondering if anyone has and DVD's they would want to sell or any that they recommend, I notice their are several folks online selling DVD's but unsure which would be the best buy.. Thanks for any advice/info!

I would recommend if you are completely brand new to being around horses/mules that you seek out a local professional to help you get started first to help supplement what you learn on a video. The only reason I suggest that is there is so much to learn about horses and mules that I feel videos and natural horsemanship programs can be too "cookie cutter" and some equines don't fit into that exact mold the trainer is trying to teach you to perform. So a lot of beginners end up either teaching their animals bad habits trying to do it themselves which can possibly lead to someone getting hurt. It takes a lot of time to learn how to correctly read a horse/mule and if you had a good mentor it would save you a big headache months down the road. I've seen some nice horses that are well trained for a good horsemen unravel within time when a novice purchases them and doesn't keep the animal in check. By all means never stop learning about them as mules/horses are a wonderful animal and a great hobby to get into and there's a lot of great videos, clinics, and horsemen to learn from. Just be smart about how you personally approach training your stock compared to your experience level

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
aggieland

aggieland

WKR
Thank you Miss Jordan for the advice. I am going to start a search for someone with real training experience.. I took a serious kick to the Chest Wednesday night while exiting the saddle, don't want those and other issues happening ever gain..