Red lights for riding at night?

Bulldawg

WKR
How do you feel about using a green or red light while on horseback? I'd like to have a light I could use to see the trail when I need to be looking for deadfall and something's right in front of me, or just working around the stock at night. I don't know if red or green are both ok or not.

Thanks guys

I use the regular white when I have to otherwise I go dark, I have noticed if I flip on and off here an there the horses notice the white light but never had a green or red to test

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I've been trying to use my red light for hiking when I expect animals to be near but I don't enjoy it. It sort of messes with my depth perception and I end up stumbling and making more noise. I am a little deficient in my red-green color vision spectrum though. In any case, I end up going back to the white light. Also, mine isn't bright enough to clearly see anything more than a few feet away. I have no stock experience with headlamps either way.

yama49

Lil-Rokslider
Spent a few hrs in saddle at night, i use white light could b dangerous not being able to see branches, rivers etc JMO

cowboy300

WKR
Most red light modes on a headlamp are pretty dim for seeing very far in front of you riding. I found the best red option is regular white light with a red lense cover. I use a 511 brand model from Sportsmans that works pretty good. I personally carry 2 headlamps for horseback hunting a dedicated red and a white light. Red and Green preserve you and your horses night vision and still allow you to see oncoming branches/deadfall/trail changes. With the red cover I can pop it off fast if I need instant white light. When the moon is out I generally ride without a light depending on the terrain. When hunting/guiding I regularly ride 3 to 5hrs a day in the dark.

OP
Bulldawg

Bulldawg

WKR