Please educate me

For my own curiosity, when you take pack animals into the backcountry, what are you doing with them while out day hunting? Do you leave them at camp? Are predators a concern? I have ZERO experience in this arena, so please forgive the stupid questions that are certainly obvious to you all, just trying to learn about different ways people are hunting. Thanks

Skickat från min E5823 via Tapatalk

We ride ours out of camp tie them to a tree and then hunt. Usually always have a pair otherwise the winnying and pawing of the ground when they are alone causes problems. If we are hunting close to camp we leave them in camp.
We never worry about predators we only have black bears and lions and have never had problems although a black bear trudging through camp would definitely cause some chaos. It's park of hunting with stock though. A lot of work goes into bringing stock into the back country and if you're not used to having stock or being around them I wouldn't suggest it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
S
Yeah, not planning on it. But was just curious how you did it. Thanks for the info!

Skickat från min E5823 via Tapatalk

MesaHorseCo.

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
i bought a packable electric corral set up awhile back. i only bring a few horses with me but that thing makes life pretty easy during they day if i dont take them out. i put em in it, they get to graze and roll and fart and i get to go out hunting. wouldnt try it with a horse that didnt respect the white tape though. I highline em at night. It works out for me grazing em because my horses can flat move in hobbles.

Stefan

Lil-Rokslider
I have yet to do an over nighter so this is good stuff for me. My horses respect fences (my electrobraid packs a wallop so they maintain a distance). I am not sure how my big girl would do on a highline, something I need to work on and get her used to.