Need Help - Best Daypack?

jschaffer

Lil-Rokslider
I am in the market for a good daypack and struggling with which one to buy. I am looking in the 1800 to 2000 capacity range for the pack. This pack wouldn't be used to pack game out, but rather day hunts for turkey, deer, etc. from the truck. Comfort and weight are of more interest to me than having an internal frame. I tried the new Kuiu Venture pack but honestly it wasn't a lot different from the weight, feel of my Icon pack. So I am wondering what else I should consider? Sitka? Badlands? Tenzing?

tracker12

WKR
I have been using a Badlands Superday for the last 8 years. It just does what I want it to do and it as cheap.

X2 for Badlands Superday. I think i would vote for my Badlands 2200 over my Superday. The 2200 has an internal frame and though its not really needed in a daypack it is nice.

OP
J

jschaffer

Lil-Rokslider
Thanks. I was looking at the Superday as well. I am a bit torn on needing/having an internal frame for comfort and transportation purposes (if I decide to fly with the pack for a hunting trip where I will be doing day hunts or tree-stand sitting). The Sitka Apex pack and the Flash 20 are intriguing to me as well.

LostArra

WKR
Day hunts with no meat hauling? What kind of weight are you packing in it?

Assuming you aren't hauling a treestand on your back I would watch Camofire for a Mystery Ranch Crest. $79
I do some similar day hunts locally with no meat hauling. I use an old Camelbak Commander that I bought used for $30. It holds water, snacks, spare shooting tab, kill kit and rain jacket with room to spare.

WJS23

WKR
I used a badlands monster for years and picked up a Kifaru scout early this year and have been really happy with it. I’m a big fan of the lumbar style packs for day hunting it keeps me from bringing too much crap with me.