Which pack for back country elk hunting?

I'm just getting into elk hunting and need more information on what size pack I will need. I've researched for months and I have narrowed the packs down to the EMR II, AMR or Mountain Warrior. I'm not a big guy, 5'7'', 130 lbs. I've come to the conclusion that multiple trips will be in the cards when hunting in the back country. All the forums/threads keep saying to go bigger but is a 10,000 cubic inch bag necessary when I know there's no way I'll be able to carry the entire pack when fully loaded? (gear included) I like the layout/design of the Mountain Warrior the best but I'm a little hesitant because of the size. Being a short guy and all things equal, will carrying heavier loads be easier expanding out or up? (EMR II vs AMR/Mountain Warrior) Any help/advice is greatly appreciated.

i think you will have no problem with any of your choices, and,, you won't be able to lift any of them if full of meat.
it comes down to what you like in a bag
i like all of them, i have a MW and love the panel loader, however i did get a spotter for the coming season so i could see the emrII getting the nod, but i don't have that pack, yet.
to me its out of those two, but plenty of guys love that amr
make a gear list and imagine packing each pack , plenty of vids and pics to imagine what it would look like, then pick one, use it for a year, get bored, sell it, and get another one...

Jordan Budd

Super Moderator
Staff member