Kifaru Reckoning vs. Exo 3500

Wisco1

FNG
Hey folks, just finally got both packs in after waiting quite a while. I am so torn. They are both GREAT packs but I'm kind of kicking myself because I'm really comparing apples and oranges. The Exo is 3500ci, while the Reckoning is 5000+. Not that this is a huge difference, but it almost seems like these bags are two different classes -- the hybrid day pack that's big enough to haul meat versus the multi-day pack that's capable of being compressed into a day pack.

Disclosure: I'm a rookie with no experience in the mountains so I really have no clue what will fit my needs better. I hope to do 2 night spikes and don't necessarily anticipate longer (but you never know) so I think either pack would work. Please feel free to interject if I sound like I'm being an idiot. I likely don't have the packs set up perfectly, so to let me know if you know something I screwed up.

Short Review:

Comfort: Both are extremely comfortable with the 70 pounds I loaded them with but I'm going to give the slight edge to the Exo. The Kifaru's load lifters come off the pad a little and dig into my collar bone. I can easily adjust it once it's on my back and then it stays on the pad, just a minor annoyance when first putting on the pack. That being said, the Kifaru stores weight on my hips a little bit better than the Exo which seems to hold some more weight on my shoulders (this may be an issue on longer hikes with more weight).

Balance: This is a tie. On my back, I'll say the Exo. As mentioned, it's a smaller, more compact pack so I guess that's to be expected. I think the angled compression straps help keep it tight to my body when I lean one way or the other. On the ground, the Kifaru is more balanced. It's nice while packing to not have my pack falling over immediately after I let go. The Exo seems to be in a hurry to fall over.

Durability