Packs on planes

shanny28757

Lil-Rokslider
How do you guys travel with your packs? I've never done it before, but I imagine they won't let you carry on something like a Mystery Ranch Metcalf or Marshall even if it's only partially loaded (for compress-ability). I don't like the idea of checking the bag due to handling damage. Dismantling the bag and stashing it in luggage seems like a huge waste of real estate.

How does everyone do it?

Idahohillboy

Lil-Rokslider
I pack mine on the plane. They let me throw my swaro spotter, 15s and reg binos along with my outdoorsman tri pod. I do this everytime. I would hate to show up with out my gear or have it get stolen. Knives go in the carry on.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

wildcat33

WKR
Putting your pack inside a large cotton sack (kinda like the ones you store a sleeping bag loose in) works well. The heavier duty the sack depends on personal preference. The main purpose is to contain all the loose straps and buckles from catching on the conveyor belts.

I have checked a backpack plenty of times by cinching everything down as tight as possible then running a strip of duct tape over the tails of the straps. Reverse the hip belt and cinch it around the pack instead of creating a loop in front where your waist would be. There is a risk this way, but if its a good pack it can take some abuse.

Put your pack in a MIL surplus duffle bag and check it in. Cheaper than shipping it and it won't get damaged that way.

I've flown with packs a lot and never had anyone complain about the size of my carry-on. If it's a small plane with tiny overhead space the airline will typically check it for free at the gate anyway.

OP
S

shanny28757

Lil-Rokslider
OK. I will probably plan to carry mine on but I won't stuff it full so it wont be a problem to get inside the overhead bin. I was just worried about the dimensions and possible issues with the extra buckles and straps or waist belt getting hung up or damaged.

darbuh

FNG