Which Backpack

kcm2

WKR
Call Kifaru, speak to Aron or Frank Peralta, both know their stuff. The tactical frame would be suited for half an elk. I've taken one hind quarter and one shoulder bone-in a couple of times in my old Longhunter, without incident. The new tactical frame seems even better to me, but it's new, and hasn't had more than 30-40 lbs in it.

I'd suggest just getting a larger bag, and cinching it down. I'm doing that with the Mountain Warrior, it shrinks down well. Then, later, if you see the need, get a smaller bag for certain events.

Of course, I'm the guy with several other Kifaru packs, but I've been using them since 1998. Went all Kifaru in 02, I think....never regretted it.

texag10

WKR
As was mentioned previously, what features are important to you will steer you one way or the other.

I like Seek Outside because I don't really care about organization in the bag, but love the light weight and durable, waterproof fabric. Others would hate having what is essentially a 4800 cu in roll top drybag with a side zipper for their packbag.

thinhorn_AK

"DADDY"
Call Kifaru, speak to Aron or Frank Peralta, both know their stuff. The tactical frame would be suited for half an elk. I've taken one hind quarter and one shoulder bone-in a couple of times in my old Longhunter, without incident. The new tactical frame seems even better to me, but it's new, and hasn't had more than 30-40 lbs in it.

I'd suggest just getting a larger bag, and cinching it down. I'm doing that with the Mountain Warrior, it shrinks down well. Then, later, if you see the need, get a smaller bag for certain events.

Of course, I'm the guy with several other Kifaru packs, but I've been using them since 1998. Went all Kifaru in 02, I think....never regretted it.

I chose the tactical frame for that reason, I do elk and moose so I wanted the heavier duty frame.