Eberlestock greatness

spdcrazy

Lil-Rokslider
I'm just beginning to realize I am a bit of a gear fanatic. I can't seem to grasp spending a pile of money on a pack that functions as one thing well, and another thing "ok". And after a bunch of research. I went with eberlestock mainframe external pack. I wanted one piece design (no hinges to loose bolts) I wanted a shelf for putting things on while tieing down quarters. I wanted a narrow frame as I'm narrow in the shoulders as well. And I wanted something that wouldn't be as much as my car payment. The coolest thing about this frame is the zippers on the side. It allowed some flat "panels" to be zipped to it. Which acted as wings to hold meat in place, or gear or whatever. Then to make it better, you can get their spike camp duffel (2400cu in) and zip on onto the frame by itself or onto the panels which allows for a giant cave of a place to put a dry bag of gear. Tucked between the frame duffel and panels.

Now for the best part. They finally came out with what they call batwings. It's a 615cu in pouch. They take the place of the panels, doing the same function but with storage. Very multipurpose as you can attach the duffel to create that large space for a dry bag. Or take the duffel out completely and zip the batwings together for a usable and small compact day pack. Or, you can leave the attached to the pack and have them to hold some meat in place as well. All in all a very versatile pack and for $328 IF you bought straight from the website. I've used the setup with the panels for last year and I'm excited to use the batwings this year. Couldn't find much of a review anywhere as the batwings are new. So hopefully this will help someone. IMG_20170808_205616509.jpgIMG_20170808_205624445.jpgIMG_20170808_205644341.jpg

Last edited:

EastMT

WKR