Got the green light on a new pack! EXO 5500

I finally got the green light from my accountant (wife ;) ) on a new bivy pack. I have been using an older style Badlands 2800 for the last 12 years. Its been a good pack, but its just ok. The fit is not perfect and I have to really be careful of the gear I take and how I pack it, and there are features I do not like. I have normally used it for scouting and archery, but have begun a lot more late season bivy hunts and the lack of storage is showing with the bulkier clothing and shelter requirements. Especially during family trips when I become the beast of burden.....

The features I wanted were: Light weight; storage pockets to organize gear, but not too crazy as to add a bunch of weight; spotting scope and tripod pocket that was easy access; hydration pouch; main bag to stuff my gear into simplifying packing on the fly; able to pack an animal out along with my gear (eg not having to hang all my stuff sacks on the outside of the pack); and a neutral color for blending in with hikers during fishing and family trips.

I have been deliberating over the last few months between the top three, Kifaru, Stone Glacier and EXO. I think the EXO has the features I want, in the weight and cost I am willing to spend. I was going to get the 3500, but think the 5500 is the better choice for minimal weight gain but more room for my winter clothing and weekend family trips. I am excited to be able to put my sleeping bag and camp into the bag rather than hanging off the bottom of the pack like my Badlands.

I have decided on the 5500, Coyote Brown, with the weapon carrier, an extra mesh pocket and a belt pouch for my left side to put my camera into. I like to keep my right side open for bear spray, a pistol or slinging my rifle depending on needs and area.

I will place the order in the next week or two, this season is almost over for me but I will have it for next years scouts and hunts. Just sharing my excitement!