Need an Ultra Lite daypack

CoHiCntry

WKR
I'm looking for recommendations on an ultra lite daypack for day hiking and mostly 14'r climbing. For reference, I've been using a Camelbak Mule for several years but it's a little small for what I need. I bought a Kifaru 14'r but it was a little more than I needed.

I want something right around 1500 cu/in for size. It needs to hold a 100 oz. water bladder and weigh LESS than 2.0 lbs. Also under $150. Would appreciate any recommendations you might have. Thanks...

OP
CoHiCntry

CoHiCntry

WKR
Looking at the HPG Tarahumara & the Seek Outside Merlin. Any opinions on these or others to consider?

Clinch

Lil-Rokslider
The Tara is smaller than you are looking for, but holds plenty for a day. There are options for strapping jackets and such on the outside. It carries fine with up to 20 lbs for me.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member

fngTony

Super Moderator
Staff member
I use this ten year old MH scrambler for just that.
f2c492bea377e8c9be70633364b43638.jpg

Probably have to search eBay for it. The new ones are different and heavier but still under two pounds vs mine at 10.5oz. Up side is they are now made with outdry so no cover needed.

OP
CoHiCntry

CoHiCntry

WKR
The Tara is smaller than you are looking for, but holds plenty for a day. There are options for strapping jackets and such on the outside. It carries fine with up to 20 lbs for me.

The size (1500 cu in), was more of a starting point. I think I could make the Tara work. Here's what I think I'll be carrying (usually)... 70 or 100 oz water bladder, puffy jacket, headlamp, light gloves, GPS, small first aid pouch, t.p. & wet wipes, snacks. It would also be nice to have the option of carrying some ice spikes and an ice axe or even some snow shoes. Even if there lashed to the outside. A place to lash or carry trekking poles would be a bonus too.