How did your fulcrum do?

Leo45

Lil-Rokslider
Exactly
IMO the Fulcrum is better in daypack mode than the Reckoning and several of the other smaller bags.
It's the king of versatility

colonel00

WKR
I already had an EMR2 so I couldn't justify buying a Fulcrum. So, I just modified my EMR2 to be exactly like the Fulcrum except for the side zips on the wings and no rigid plastic pieces in the wings. Though it took away a couple of the exterior pockets, the Fulcrum fixes all of the issues I had with the EMR2.

I am looking to get my first bag and had decided on Reckoning since Fulcrum and many others looked too big for my needs. Several of you say it works well in daypack mode. Better to spend a little more to have a single bag that does it all? Trying to decide whether to save a little money and risk another purchase or buy the big one first. I am a rookie with no experience here.

You can always compress a bag down but it making a small bag bigger when you need it is a very difficult feat. Yeah, maybe you are carrying around a few more ounces here and there but it's not that bad. Plus, many folks like to go with a lighter bag and then find that they need to add a bunch of pockets and stuff to it to carry things which in the end probably brings the weight difference pretty close together.

MattB

WKR
I really like mine. Being able to go from day pack mode to meat hauler by lengthening a few straps is great. It seems to be the right amount and size of pockets, and the zipper is really convenient.

huntdoc, There are several key differences between the 2 bags you mention with 1 being the Reckoning having a meat shelf vs the Fulcrum were the meat is carried inside. The meatshelf function has never appealed to me although others prefer this function.

rbljack

WKR