Eberlestock J34 Pack

tduex

FNG
Hey guys,

First off, I’m pretty new to backpacks that are used for western hunting. I’m starting to acquire gear for a 2019 elk hunt, and I came across the j34 that seems like a good pack (I’m from Wisconsin so I might use it for western hunting once, maybe twice per year). It’s appealing to me that it can be used as a day pack as well as a multi day pack.

Just want to see if anyone has any insight on the pack. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zbot

WKR
For that price, you can get into a used MR/Exo or new Horn Hunter Full Curl and be set for life. It'll carry better and save your back/hunts.

I tried the Just One with 60 pounds and it carried horribly. The load lifters don't function well and it sags due to its design. JMHO

KurtR

WKR
I ran the j34 my first year going to Idaho. Sold it as fast as I could. Lots better options. I got a Kifaru and it night and day difference. Eberlestock has a nice layout and built good just don't carry weight very good

FLAK

WKR
Love my J107. It's been to ID., AK., NM, TX, and all over the Appalachians.
No signs of giving up yet.

EastMT

WKR
I personally like my eberlestock, but they are not comfy in heavy loads.

Good- bullet proof, won't need customer service as they dont break. You can find used ones cheap, there's a just one for $125 on here now. Rifle carrier is my favorite option, and the reason I carry it for bear hunting and day trips.

Bad-rough on shoulders, I carried half a bone in caribou, ribs included last year, well over 100 pounds and it hurt the entire way, my Barneys would have been a better option, but again, I like the rifle sleeve.

Stone Glacier, kifaru, MR, any of the high end packs are much better for heavy loads, if you can handle the pain in your shoulders better than the pain in your wallet it's doable.

"If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it."

Jordan Budd

Super Moderator
Staff member