XPac vs Cordura

I have zero experience with XPac material and was wondering how it holds up compared to Cordura. Cordura you could basically send through a wood chipper and it wouldn't have a scratch on it. It's awesome that XPac is waterproof and light but how does it hold up?

JP100

WKR
there was some discussion on this on another thread about the new Kifaru bags, consensus was its tough but maybe not as tough as Cordua for abrasion, but is waterproof and cleans better.
Is noisier, especially when cold.

I think the pros outweigh the cons for a hunting material, unless you are rock climbing or doing some serious use for gear it should hold up.
Will soon find out!

Kevin_t

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
To make it as simple as XPAC vs Cordura is not really accurate. To put it simply Cordura and XPAC both have different fabric weights. Most often, when people refer to Cordura they are referring to 500 Denier Cordura or 1000 Denier Cordura and when people refer to XPAC they are referring to a laminate applied to a face fabric .... however most often XPAC is applied to lighter weight face fabrics such as 70D or 210D. XPAC can be applied to heavier fabrics like 500D or even 1000D face fabrics.

We (Seekoutside.com) have used a lot of Cordura XPAC before .. it is possible to have both a Cordura face fabric and XPAC laminate. In fact, we have used it in a 330 Denier and 500 denier Cordura with an XPAC laminate and our Slate Gray we used to offer was a 500D / 1000 D Cordura face with XPAC laminate. . These are excellent fabrics for a mountain hunting pack. However, usage matters and they are overkill for a trail pack and underpowered for a canyoneering pack. Remember usage matters !!!