Anyone have any good/bad experience with the Alps Commander X packs?

bzb_1

FNG
Anyone have any experience with this system? I am able to get one at half off. I have no (absolutely zero experience) in backpacking or backpack hunting. It seems like a nice set up to me I know just from reading here and other forums that they are not one of the more popular brands here. I will be using it for trips no more that 5-7 days probably once a year.

This is the model I am considering.

http://www.alpsoutdoorz.com/images/p/Commander-X-Shelf-and-Pack-Bag.jpg

Thanks for any input.

NDGuy

WKR
Take what people say on these forums with a grain of salt. People on here are obsessed with hunting and gear performance so just because no one mentions a brand doesn't mean it won't work for you. That being said I have zero experience with that brand, I have always thought they looked cheap and steered away from it. Most people agree that the three things to not skimp on are your pack, boots, and glass. If anything, buy it at half off and sell it on Facebook for what you paid for it if you don't like it.

One other brand to look at that won't kill the bank is Horn Hunter. The Hush guys use their packs and I think they seem like a decent setup. Don't overlook Eberlestock either.

dplantz

Lil-Rokslider
Take what people say on these forums with a grain of salt. People on here are obsessed with hunting and gear performance so just because no one mentions a brand doesn't mean it won't work for you. That being said I have zero experience with that brand, I have always thought they looked cheap and steered away from it. Most people agree that the three things to not skimp on are your pack, boots, and glass. If anything, buy it at half off and sell it on Facebook for what you paid for it if you don't like it.

One other brand to look at that won't kill the bank is Horn Hunter. The Hush guys use their packs and I think they seem like a decent setup. Don't overlook Eberlestock either.