Mystery Ranch Metcalf Opinions?

Troy1971

Lil-Rokslider
Mystery ranch Metcalf pack. I have never used a mystery ranch pack or even tried one on. Where I live there is no retailers. I’m looking at a brand new guide light frame with the Metcalf bag and I need opinions. Preferably people that have owned the frame or bag and have used it. Please don’t leave your opinion about other backpacks. I only want opinions on this one. Big game hunting is what I’ll be using it for.

CorbLand

WKR
I have one on a NICE Frame. I really like it. Its comfortable, fits plenty of stuff for an extended stay and is easy to organize. I don't like that there is a million buckles and straps. It is also very heavy for what it is but they are built like tanks.

If you not interested in hearing about other packs, then your mind is made up buy it. If you are I would suggest looking into EXO Mountain Gear.

I’m no expert, but I had a guide lite frame for a few days and took it back from the pain it caused me. If you have a straight back, get it. Mine is more curved and it just did not work. But they all fit different. Be ready to try a few. Good luck!

OP
T

Troy1971

Lil-Rokslider
Corbland I would really luv to have an EXO but they are $650 and they weigh in at 5.5lbs and MR is 6.1. Not much difference in weight

Only offering my experiences: I evaluated a number of packs including some favorites mentioned in this thread. I found the Metcalf fit me far better and felt like it met or exceeded the quality of other packs....at less cost. The weight difference meant absolutely nothing to me. I have never let pack weight rule my decisions. The new Guide Lite frame IS a winner in my book. I've done a couple extended solo hunts in AK with my MR packs and they are truly built for wilderness duty.

NDGuy

WKR
I love my Pintler and Metcalf. I used the Metcalf last year hunting Montana. Packing out my deer felt like nothing on my back, and I am a smaller guy.