2019 Idaho Spring Bear Hunt

This is my first foray into the rockslide forums. I've been stalking around here for years, but have not posted. Looking for some advice in planning a backcountry 2019 spring bear hunt in Idaho. First, I'm a newbie at western hunting/backcountry hunting, although I'm an avid backpacker. I'm planning on packing into the backcountry on a spot & stalk style hunt. A couple of questions I'd like to leverage the collective wisdom of the group on:

1. What are some techniques/methods of E-scouting areas to find bears? I'm looking in units 10, 10a, and 12. Looking at Google earth and topo maps to find avalanche chutes, South facing slopes, etc. What else should I be doing?

2. What time in the spring is best for this type of hunt?

3. Any general advice/lessons learned from your experience you can share?

Thanks in advance
Caleb

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Follow the green up up the mountain depending on when you go. Grass is the main bear food source in the spring.

The trick is getting access to a lot of the country. You've got roads that are snowed in (usually anything above 6,000 feet until June or later) and roads that have washed out that haven't received maintenance. You really want to look at snotel, call the local forest service, figure out where you can drive, and have backups.

Mid May to early June is all good. Some guys have preferences in there and you could also go a little earlier or later but that time period is often when spring bear is hot.

Graves14

WKR
A lot of That country is really steep and heavily timbered. Just be ready for a lot of elevation change and lower visibility. I was considering elk hunting that unit but once I got there and looked around, decided to go to a different unit.

GL with the hunt!!

OP
calebmason33
This is great stuff, thanks and keep it coming

TheTone

WKR
10a is covered in logging roads in large parts of the unit and many of those parts will be covered in clearcuts and nasty regen.