Is this enough Pistol?

FlyGuy

WKR
Looks like I will be going on my 1st bear hunt next Spring in MT. Ive never bothered with carrying bear spray or a sidearm before, but for this hunt we will be in an area on the edge of grizzly country.

I've heard that the 10mm is the preferred caliber for bear defense, but I don't own one. I do have a 40 caliber Glock and my wife has a small hammerless 357 revolver. Are either of these good enough, or should I use this as an opportunity to expand my firearm collection to include the 10mm?

Also, are there specific rounds that I should be using?

I'm super excited about this hunt, but I have SOOOOO much to learn about it. Total newb here so on bear hunting and on hunting in grizzly areas.

Bynumlife

Lil-Rokslider
If you were only worried about black bear protection, I’d say at .357 or 10mm would be fine. From every Alaskan i know, they would just laugh at you if you brought one of those for grizz defense.

I’m in the similar boat. I’m moving to northern Idaho in grizzly country and would love to buy a 10mm but am going to step up to what most people who live in that country carry for grizzly, the 44 mag. Buying the Smith & Wesson 629.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

EastMT

WKR
There are a lot of people here in AK carrying 357 or 10 mm including bear guides. I carried a smith 44 for a long time and just switched to a glock 20 10mm. After comparing 44 and 10 mm ballistics, I decided they were close enough to justify 15 rounds vs 6.

A 357 with some heavy solid copper Barnes bullets or hard cast will do just fine if you don't want to spend a bunch of money.

Bynumlife

Lil-Rokslider
There are a lot of people here in AK carrying 357 or 10 mm including bear guides. I carried a smith 44 for a long time and just switched to a glock 20 10mm. After comparing 44 and 10 mm ballistics, I decided they were close enough to justify 15 rounds vs 6.