Bear Bait. . .what do you use and why?

Tyler Beck

Lil-Rokslider
Rokslide Sponsor
I have been hunting bears for a few years now, but last spring started baiting pretty hard. I have used meat scraps from local butchers, pastries and bread, and dog food mixed with grease. For my experience level I felt as if I had fairly good results as everything was consumed by the critters. As I am getting excited for spring bear here in the next few months I had a few questions:

What do you all use and why? Any cons of switching up the bait type?

Thank you for the input!
-Tyler

amp713

WKR
Hunted Idaho bears and they would eat the sweet stuff first and then come back for the rest later....

Leftovers from the bakery. A truckload at a time for $10. They always pound the bread and donuts before they'll touch dog food. I like honey/jello burns too. For more scent I dilute caramel extract into vegetable oil and put it in a spray bottle.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

I use whatever I can get my hands on.

A call scent is far more important than the type of bait you use (IMO).

Getting them there is the hard part, keeping them there just requires ample bait.

Ensuring there is a constant strong scent at your site will continue to bring new bears in. Ensuring there is ample bait at your site will keep bears coming back to eat.

Mostly dog food, with whatever sweets we can get mixed in. Anything we have ever put grease on they wouldn't touch??

Never have seen much difference using a call scent or not, but location has made a big difference for us.

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member
I use whatever I can get my hands on.

A call scent is far more important than the type of bait you use (IMO).

Getting them there is the hard part, keeping them there just requires ample bait.

Ensuring there is a constant strong scent at your site will continue to bring new bears in. Ensuring there is ample bait at your site will keep bears coming back to eat.