First CA Deer Hunt

Kopfjager

FNG
Well actually, it's my first year deer hunting ever. I am 33 years old, and for all intents and purpose, a first generation hunter in my family. The time is drawing nigh to submit tag applications, and I am in need of advice as to what zone I should put in for.

I live in Bakersfield, and would prefer to not have to travel more than a few hours, as I would like to do some scouting on foot and get a few training hikes in the area I plan to hunt. Any recommendations?

As always, I appreciate any and all input, and look forward to hearing your thoughts!

Nick

Archery or rifle ? Pick a zone you can go to alot. Down there maybe Azone or D7,8 ,9,10 . You will be hunting general zones , so Id just pick the one you can get to and explore with boots on the ground most often to begin with and learn

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Welcome to hunting! I 2nd what was stated above, pick a spot you are willing to travel to frequently. Yet I would also say pick one that others would be less likely to travel to.

If you are brand new to hunting I would recommend rifle over archery, based on your handle I am quite certain you prefer rifles. Your first few hunts will probably be a steep learning curve as you have no one to show you the ropes. If feasible look up some hunting organizations and see if you can tag along with any locals on their hunt for a few days. Otherwise get out there and get comfy in the woods and best of luck on your hunt!

Pro953

WKR
I was in your exact situation when I started out. Find some pockets close to you and dedicate time to them unless you can take regular weekend trips to an area further out to get to know the spots. Lots of good dove, rabbit and coyote hunting closer to home for you to whet you appetite and get experience in the off season as well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk