Hunting Los Padres National Forrest. Safe Or Unsafe?

Ozzymodel70

Lil-Rokslider
hey Fellow blacktail hunters im seeking advice on hunting Los Padres NF. around Carmel Valley,in the Ventana wilderness. I've been pouring over maps for a few years now and the only thing holding me back is the illegal pot growing! its just something i dont want to mess with. I get my deer hunting fix in the high Sierra's. or out of state. but I live only about a hour away from Los Padres NF. I am a bowhunter and always wanted to take advantage of the july archery season I mainly Back pack hunt And want to squeeze in some overnight hunts. during archery season i usually role solo. and I just dont know alot about hunting in the area. I don't mind finding my own game. its the illegal activity that bothers me. I do know it goes on alot but just want to know how bad it is. or if i should not even waste my time. any info would be appreciated.

Sawfish

Lil-Rokslider
Unfortunately, it appears this is a situation we are going to have to endure for some time to come. You can either hunt the area, and use an overabundance of caution, or acquiesce and in effect lose more area to hunting. Most of the small growers won't bother you if they realize you are not a threat to their activities. The large commercial operations are another story. Only you can decide whether the reward is worth the risk. Since I hunt alone, I avoid known grower areas. However, there is always a chance that you will accidentally stumble onto an active grow site. For that reason, I always carry a side arm in addition to my primary hunting gun. Opinions are all over the box on this, but the bottom line is always the same. Is it worth the risk to you?

RyanH

FNG