Early stages of planning a 2019 caribou hunt.

Nuke Man

WKR
Ok guys as stated I'm in the very very early stages of planning a bou hunt. Looking at 2019. I've got all the gear I would need so I am looking at a fly in drop off hunt. With all the talk about unit closures and declining herds it's a bit overwhelming as to where to look. I know there are a lot of extremely knowledgeable individuals on here. Where are some good places to look as well as good transportation services. If you were coming from the Midwest doing your first Alaskan hunt where would you start? I plan on rifle hunting too. I will have at least a couple weeks of vacation time to burn aswell. Trophy quality takes a backseat to bringing home meat.
I've done 3 western DIY hunts so not a complete noob but not a seasoned vet either. I sincerely would appreciate any help/info you guys would be so kind to give. Thanks.

Stid2677

WKR
I would look at the 40 Mile herd and booking with 40 Mile Air, or one of the other transporters working that area. About the most "stable herd" IMHO, super cub hunt is cool too. Book early popular hunt. Logistics are not bad but the cost will be in the 3 to 5 K range each would guess.

Steve

The Porcupine herd is the only herd that the ADF&G say is growing currently. It is also the closest to Canada and one of the more expensive to access. I am heading up this September to hunt the Central Arctic herd, and will have a lot more information to share once I get back.

My analysis is you have basically 3 options.

1) True DIY, fly commercial someplace, rent a car, hike or paddle in, and hike or paddle out
2) Drop hunt. Fly commercial, then fly air transporter to a lake or landing strip, hunt from your camp, get picked up at the same place later.
3) Drop float. Fly commercial, then fly air transporter to a river someplace, and float out with your camp and meat to a vehicle or another pickup location.