Caribou Hunt

MNBill

Lil-Rokslider
Hello Rocksliders! Another Noob here! We are 4 guys from Minnesota that want to do a boo hunt in Alaska. We do have some physical limitations as we are all 63-65 years old. Mind you we don't mind a challenge, just that we can't hike for miles on end to get to where we can start hunting. We will likely also have some issues with long distance hikes and heavy packs. All that said, 3 of us have successfully hunted elk in Colorado, Wyoming and Utah. (Semi guided and unguided). We are also avid DIY duck hunters. On our duck hunts, we camp for a week at a time. We have most car camp type gear, and are not opposed to purchasing light weight gear if necessary. We have guns...30-06 and 300 Win Mag. This hunt is planned for August 2019. For the most part, we do not see a fixed time schedule, as we are all retired.

So enough about us....

We are looking to do an economical caribou hunt, driving to Alaska from Minnesota, and maybe throw in some fishing. We have read enough now to know that we are getting at least 1 wolf tag per hunter. Other than that, what are some suggestions from the "been there done that" Rocksliders? Fly in? Recommendations on air service? (We have looked at a hunt with Allalaska. Comments?) Drive to area? gear? Guns? Gear rental? Feel free to PM if you need to.

As we are just starting the research, anything will help.

Thanks in advance!

MNBill

Ray

WKR
"We are looking to do an economical caribou hunt, driving to Alaska from Minnesota, and maybe throw in some fishing."

"Economical" and "air service for four" are not part of the same hunt. With that many people and gear, once you have four bulls down you will probably need a second flight to haul the critters out. Nothing economical about that.