Sitka pants

Jordan Budd

Super Moderator
Staff member
I'd say either the Mountains or the Timberlines. Mid weight but not fleece lined... so you could go with no bottoms when its early season and later season through some merino bottoms underneath and be pretty good until it's like below 20. For me anyways.

Lukex24

FNG
I agree with Jordan.

I have the mountains, but if I had to do it again, I'd go with the the Timberlines just because of the material used in the seat and knees is a little beefier than on the mountains.

Can't really go wrong with either pair though.

I have two pair of the Ascent pants, and really like them. They are lightweight compared to the other Sitka pants, but I don't find them any "less warm" than the cotton camo pants I had been wearing from Cabelas for many years. I just use merino wool base layers under them if necessary. They are the most comfortable pants I have ever worn period.

Poser

WKR
I have a pair of Timberlines -never worn them hunting, but they are my "go to" snowboarding/winter sports pant. Beefy, stretchy and super comfortable. -heavy by Backcountry hunting standards.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

excaliber

WKR
I like the Mountain pants the best of the Sitka pants I've owned. I've worn the Ascent pant and they were lighter but not as tough. They snagged on some brush but not too bad. The Mountain pant is a slightly heavier and sturdier fabric.

None of them are waterproof. I can wear the Mountains pants in early season when Archery hunting with no problems at all. When the temps drop I add a light silk weight baselayer and if it gets really cold I use a heavier base layer.

The mountain pants are stretchy, tough and just comfortable. I have three pairs. I like them so much I'll buy a pair of the new subalpine pants when the prices come down.

halg

Lil-Rokslider
Timberline. A bit warm for HOT weather, perfect for cool-warm weather, and with a little layering, gray for cold weather. And burly as hell.

bmart2622