Nylon vs Leather Belt

treillw

WKR
Which belt material do you prefer and why? I'm sure that the both have advantages and disadvantages. I have always used leather belts and am thinking about getting a nylon one.

I will be putting a 4 pound revolver on this belt. (yes, I know chest holsters exist :eek:)

Thanks!

Owenst7

WKR
Leather for CCW because it doesn't twist or stretch. I've been wearing an Alien Gear steel-lined belt for a few years and have nothing but excellent things to say about it.

Webbing for backpacking because of the thinner profile and it has enough flexibility to form to my hips better. I find this more comfortable underneath the hip belt of my backpack.

I've never seen a webbing belt that could outperform a good leather belt for carrying a pistol. If the webbing were similar in stiffness to leather, I don't think it would work well with a friction-type buckle. I don't think webbing would be as durable with a pin style buckle. If you added eyelets or something to make it handle the pin better, I think you'd end up being much heavier than leather.

I also find leather more comfortable in terms of breathability/wicking, temperature, and feel against the skin.

fishslap

WKR
Nylon for general hiking/hunting. Bison Designs is the way to go. I have a small thin one for non carry and a thicker wider one for carrying a ruger Blackhawk 41mag, although I rarely carry it. They make good xmas gift ideas for your family. Get two different designs and see what works.

Edit: Forgot to answer the question. I like the small adjustments I can do with nylon. Most leather belts use holes or will slip if it has a slide type buckle. The small thin belt is way better with a pack like already mentioned.

N2TRKYS

WKR
I much prefer a leather belt whether I'm carrying a backpack or not. To me I get more support from them than a nylon belt. I haven't found any situation for me to ever wear a nylon belt.

Hmmm.