Rain Gear - Outdoor Research, First Lite, Skre

fishslap

WKR
Another rain gear topic....

I've been packing around cabelas space rain for several years now and use it occasionally with ok results. Sometimes I'll find some wet areas (not too bad) and I can't tell if it's me sweating in it when hiking in the rain or if its soaking through. I also have another slightly heavier but similar jacket from cabelas that does the same. I live in Colorado and it doesn't rain much so I don't need heavy duty gear but I was thinking of changing my jacket. Here are some cost effective options. What are your thoughts?

-First Lite Vapor Stormlight, 12oz, I can get the discontinued Pine color for $123.75, or any color for $178.75
-Outdoor Research Foray Jacket, 16.3oz, I get a discount at $129 and they have it in coyote brown
-Outdoor Research Helium II, 6.4oz, I get a discount at $95.40 and they have it in coyote brown
-Skre Gear Nebo SL Rain Jacket, 13.7oz, $199.99 (no discount unless they do veterans discount)

I'd be interested in other options too. Price isn't the primary factor but since I don't use it that much it's a consideration. One option is to buy both of the OR jackets and then I can choose what to take based on likelihood of rain. Internet says my space rain jacket is 11.2 but I haven't weighed it.

fngTony

Super Moderator
Staff member
The helium II won’t be much of an upgrade for durability. FYI, cut small I’d have to go up two sizes.

Skre does do veteran discount Page not found | Skre Gear

If the link doesn’t work just click on “veteran appreciation” at the bottom of the home page.

OP
F

fishslap

WKR
Do the OR ones have the lifetime guarantee?

Sent from my LG-H811 using Tapatalk

Yes (infinite, guaranteed forever). First lite doesn't so that's always a roll of the dice. I had the beanie get a hole in it the first time I washed it (per their instructions to get it to fit properly). They said sorry, nothing we can do, you washed it (per instructions).

KHNC

WKR