Rain wear - CO elk Hunt

fishstu

FNG
Another East Coast newbie to Elk hunting - I am planning a multi week DIY backpack CO archery Elk hunt starting August 23th. (I have hiked CO for several years and know how demanding the hiking is).

I have the lightest Rivers West Pioneer Rain Jacket and Pants and are thinking of using them as my 'it’s going to rain all day" rain gear. Planning have pit zips added to the jacket for ventilation.
What are people’s thoughts on Rivers West Pioneer Ran Jacket and Pants - would I be better of getting something else?

Also looking for advice on very light weight packable rain gear for just in case.

I will be posting a number of posts asking for feedback and advice - feel very fortunate to have found this site. Can’t wait to be huffing and puffing.

Many Thanks

I have no experience with the Rivers West Pioneer Rain Jacket, but looking on their site they advertise it as 1 pound 6.4 ounces. It also doesn't state what size it is. I can however compare to what my backpacking rain jacket is. I have the Kuiu Chugach jacket. It is a size medium and weighs 1 pound 1.5 ounces. That is a difference of roughly 5 ounces. To save 5 ounces by purchasing a new Kuiu Chugach NX you would have to spend $230. That seems quite steep. I don't know your budget either. I can't speak to the durability of the Rivers West, which is something I would like to know before a multi week trip. Getting a significant rip in it would not be good.

3forks

WKR
I get why some would choose not to pack rain gear, but I think you're rolling the dice.

I've been on some trips where it's rained for extended periods of time, and rain gear kept me comfortable when others were soaked after the DWR finish on their jackets and pants wasn't enough to keep them dry. Also, a quality rain jacket will breathe well enough that you can hike in it and stay dry.