Best Material for Backpacking Stove?

Next year I'm finishing up my Manufacturing Engineering degree, which requires a senior project. I'm planning to make 3-5 backpacking stoves for mine. What thickness and type of material is best? Stainless is very cheap and probably handles the heat fairly well. Titanium is obviously lighter, but is more expensive and can be negatively affected by heat. I'd love to use Inconel but it would cost ~$150 for each stove body, vs 70 for titanium and next to nothing for 304 stainless. Have there been any problems with titanium body stoves burning through? Is there a limited life expectancy for some materials/thicknesses?

FlyGuy

WKR
Congrats! That is a cool project to do btw.

I am NOT an engineer, so I can't really help you that much. I can tell you that I haven't ever heard of a problem with titanium in a backpack stove under normal use, but there are many others on here with far more experience than I.

Not sure how it works with senior projects, but titanium SOUNDS much cooler/hipper/more bad-ass than stainless does, which is all that really matters in the real world to get something sold.

Now, i dont know the 1st thing about Inconel or what job of properties it has. But, since it is so expensive, and since I've never even heard of it before, I'm already want to buy one of your exclusive 1st release inconel stoves. See how that works! HaHa! Gear heads are pretty easy. We like shiney new things.

Good luck to you! You probably already know this, but Lite Outdoors has some stove materials on their site that you can order for a diy project, so you might check them out if you havent already.

Sent from my SM-G610F using Tapatalk

Beendare

WKR
Are you talking about a stove like the cylinders at 'Lite outdoors'...or butane cooking stoves like MSR ?

My experience with Ti has been fantastic in stoves- both the butane and the wood stoves.

Ti is amazing stuff.