How important is opening day to Archery season?

I'm gonna be hunting Zone 48 in Idaho this September, and am trying to plan out which days to request off from work. This is my first year elk hunting. I originally planned to take off 5 Fridays and Mondays (total, not each), giving me a couple 4 days weekends to hunt. I live inside the zone, so traveling isn't much of an issue.

I found an incredible spot scouting that I'm anxious to get to before others. Is it worth taking off Aug 30 and 31, making a 5 day weekend right off the bat (Labor Day that Monday), or would those days be better spent later in the season when the rut is going stronger?

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
Every opening weekend I've ever gone I've gotten bulls to bugle, and even got within 50 yards of them. But I've never shot a bull opening weekend, either couldn't get the shot or passed them up. However, if you have a good water spot that gets frequented, those early season warm days are the ticket......if you can hunt that way. I can't, so I generally wait to head up until later.....depending on the unit I'm hunting. I have a couple buddies that have shot big bulls opening morning over the last 7 years. The advantage is no pressure up until opening day. But I also avoid Labor Day weekend like the plague. Down here you get every recreationalist in the state in the mountains that weekend.

However, if you have a good water spot that gets frequented, those early season warm days are the ticket......if you can hunt that way. .

Do you hunt wallows where they cool off? Or do you hunt water sources where they drink from? Do you use a treestand or just stand next to a tree?

Shrek

WKR