Less than 2 months out! It's starting to get real!

Well, I am leaving on September the 16th for first ever elk hunt. Less than two months to go and its starting to get real! The last couple months have been a whirlwind. I graduated from nursing school, went on AT for the National Guard, took a couple weeks vacation with the family, started my new job and have been recovering from a back injury. I feel like I am back at square one! Physically speaking I am way behind. Went on a short hike yesterday and was sucking wind after a mile. I have really got to ramp it up over the next few weeks or I will be in trouble!

What are you guys doing during these final couple months? I have my area pinned down and a decent game plan in mind. Physically, I just have some catching up to do.

elkyinzer

WKR
Something flipped the switch in me about the start of this week. I think about hunting year round, but there comes a point every summer where it quickly escalates from passing thoughts to pure obsession. We had a stretch of cooler, dry weather and the days are getting shorter. The herbs and underbrush in the woods are dying back. That seems to do it for me, the time is getting near!

I leave September 10 for elk, so a little over 6 weeks out. This will be my 3rd trip for elk and something like my 7th trip out West, so I am really starting to feel more confident about my preparations. I really ramp up my training in August, and that is good enough for me. I stay in pretty good shape year-round, and don't try to be Superman on a hunt. Thus far in the summer I have stayed pretty active, doing consistent hiking, mountain biking, kayaking, and also lifting a couple times a week.