Idaho Elk 2017 Unit 39

nphunter

WKR
Hey guys. I've been hunting the late ID deer hunt for a couple years now and next year I am planning on doing the 39-3 hunt if I draw or the "B" tag elk hunt. I am trying to find a elk hunt where we can do it every year and find decent bulls too, I am trying to find a place to bring my boys in a couple years when they are old enough to hunt elk. My oldest is 10 and will be 11 this summer so he should be able to join in 2018. Here at home in NE OR they will only have a chance to Rifle hunt for branch bulls a couple times before they are adults (besides archery)

I grew up hunting out of an elk camp every year with my dad and grandparents here in North East Oregon and unfortantly here in Oregon the only thing we can do yearly is otc spike or apply for cow tags which would make it to where we could never draw branch bull tags.

Any advice on areas to check out, tips or tactics would be very much appreciated. We have been hunting elk for a long time here in Oregon and have done well but the last 10 years or so we haven't set up elk camp but two times and my boys have never been. This is something I loved growing up and want to be able to carry on the tradition for my kids.

I have spent some of my time up cottonwood backpacking or out by mountain home 39-3, only me and my buddy are going to come this year to check it out. I plan on staying one week hunting elk and then staying for the first week of late archery. I am not opposed to doing a different elk hunt in late Oct. or Early Nov. either but it seems like there is plenty of opportunity for decent bulls in 39 if a person works for it.

Thanks, Curtis

I'd avoid an OTC rifle tag that close to Boise. If I were limited to your options I'd look towards hunting the Devils instead of around the Boise River area.

OP
nphunter

nphunter

WKR