Top 4 units to collect points for in Colorado

ahawk116

FNG
Last year a friend and I went on a diy elk hunt in Montana. We are complete newbies to elk hunting, but we quickly became addicted to the backcountry. Chasing animals around that look like something out of a movie. For a southerner it seems like a horse with a massive set of antlers that screams at you.
As a result of that, I am planning an archery elk hunt in Colorado for September of 2018 and would like to start gathering points.

What four units would you guys suggest applying for?

OP
A

ahawk116

FNG
On our on on public would be preferable.
I am not familiar with trespass fees how much money are we talking? If it's a couple of hundred bucks to walk through someone else's property to get to public land I am interested.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MAT

Lil-Rokslider
The good news is you only have to apply for a pref point by 4/4 this year. The bad news is there are not many GMUs where a NR can draw a tag for public land with only 1 point for 2018.

Brendan

WKR
The good news is you only have to apply for a pref point by 4/4 this year. The bad news is there are not many GMUs where a NR can draw a tag for public land with only 1 point for 2018.

This - I'd buy a point but plan on hunting OTC if it were me.

If you are just getting into the points game you will probably never draw the top 4 units in Colorado. You are realistically 15-20 years out on mid tier units so I would learn an OTC unit and get to hunting

TexanSam

Lil-Rokslider
You could draw first rifle for an OTC unit and expect a little bit better hunting if I am correct... That's what I'm doing

Sent from my KYOCERA-C6742A using Tapatalk

Hayguide

Lil-Rokslider