Whats your formula for success?

Everyone who is successful at any big game has a "formula" they like to follow if they can because it is what has worked for them in the past be it finding a hot bull and calling, sitting water etc.

Ive never laid eyes on the mountains but I am starting to formulate my plan though Im sure it will change given opportunity and circumstance.

Im going to start with trying to spot elk watch them and either get in front of them or possibly sitting on a travel route if I can find fresh sign. Being Im new to elk Im going to leave the calling on the back burner unless it seems to be the best answer for the situation.

elkguide

WKR
Boots on the ground.

Get out there and be flexible and do what the situation calls for.
Making lots of mistakes and learning from them.

tttoadman

WKR
Get an easy cow call. They are simple and won't generally blow animals out if you do it a little wrong.

Get out there before light and listen. Elk make a lot of noise.

Realize that elk can move extremely fast for long distances with minimal effort. Be prepared to go when the opportunity presents itself. Many times I have taken off chasing Elk in the last half hour of light and ended up 2 ridges and 4 miles from camp. When you make it happen, it is all worth it. If you don't get there, you know where to start the next morning to try to find em.

zach14

FNG