How much time to you give an area?

Those of you who hunt from a base or spike camp, how long do you hunt a particular zone before moving on?

Everything I have been reading has said move until you find elk. while hunting from a camp do you just push farther from camp every day or stay in the same region and hope something gets pushed in to you? I imagine after the first few days of the season the place you are tying for the first time has already been tried by someone else.

Are you finding where you think they will be headed and just wait until they get enough pressure to go there?

Bynumlife

Lil-Rokslider
That's a great question and I'm assuming you're talking OTC elk hunting. For me (and I'm not an expert) I always have backup location ready explore and I can almost always find elk and I haven't hunted the same spot two years in a row in the last 10 years. Preparation is key. I spend hours looking over google earth, maps and Bing maps studying terrain. I call local biologists and outfitters seeing what I can find out. Most important I find place the majority of others don't want to or won't go.

Last year I had a place like that picked out. I spent the day in the woods and came across zero fresh sign and zero bugles. That was all it took for me to pull out. There was more pressure than we expected and the elk moved onto private. We had a backup location picked out, somewhere we had never been, packed up camp and drove 2 hrs away. Next morning the elk were where we thought they would be. 1-2 miles away from trails, northern exposure and good bedding and food. Didn't end up killing one last year but it wasn't because we couldn't find elk.... I missed.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

weaver

WKR
For elk I give an area a max of 24 hours. If I haven't seen or heard anything I'm moving on. Either hiking to a different area or out to the truck and starting over in a new spot.