Meat packing

DougP

Lil-Rokslider
I get the mental part and the ability part and even the needs to get off the mountain part.

I'm not saying it can't be done or shouldn't be done. I've never had to pack an elk out further than a half mile to the truck so I have no experience beyond that. Usually the packouts were across clear cuts so it was easier to make multiple, lighter trips.

Kudos to those that do it, I'll have to wait and see what it's like to carry an elk out further than I have in the past.

If I get lucky this November I’ll give you a call if you’re really aching to find out, haha.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Some guys seem to think it's an impossible task. I'm just saying that it's more than possible to carry 100lb loads out of the mountains. Maybe not for the 5'6" 140lb hunters I seem to run into these days, but for a lot of guys.......yes, it's very possible.

9bfaa8f2f57b1c54b3532dd8e4623fe8.jpg

5'6" 136 lbs. 100 lb load of Sheep/Gear. Chugach Mountains. Several miles of steep terrain. It is doable if you've trained hard enough and with enough weight to condition your body to that level of stress. I'll often bring a small, 2 ounce, digital luggage scale to base camp in order to help equal out loads.

Last edited:

FlyGuy

WKR
Ill never forget the 1st time i tried a loaded pack training walk. I was running the bivy 45 from sitka at the time. This was just 3 miles, very very flat. I used some of those bags of lead shot from my shooting sled (way too compact of weight, btw). Anyway, i was shocked at how hard it was. I was certain my pack was 90+lbs, and probably pushing 100. Hung it on a scale when i got back and it was just a little less than 60lbs... dumbfounded.

Anyway, i expect that is what happens to alot of folks. I started shopping for a new pack the next day.

Sent from my SM-G610F using Tapatalk

tttoadman

WKR