How FAR can Elk see?

I am very new to hunting in general, but Elk in particular. A good friend of mine mentioned that you need to be as hidden as possible while approaching your Elk. He was saying that even from hundreds of yards away, the Elk can see you. So my stalk a couple of days ago was a very difficult one and my entry points into the stream ravine were limited. Long story short, I was outed by a couple of Muley's and when I got in position, finally, I found no Elk. So it gets me to thinking, how far can Elk see? Do I have to be sneaking around behind trees from hundreds of yards away or should I think that at about 100 yards plus, I am invisible.

I only ask this since from my long range shooting practices, I could be 200 yards away from someone with semi-decent camouflage and they would NEVER see me. I gotta think that Elk with 20/60 vision would have a hard time discerning a walking hunter in camouflage past 100 yards.

What are your thoughts?

Bar

Banned
They don't see you. They see your movement. Don't move and you can be 10yds away and they won't spook if they don't smell you. It's my style of hunting, so I know this is true.

twall13

WKR
I agree with what Bar said. Movement is what they pick up on. That said, you can often, though not always, get away with them seeing or hearing you but if they smell you they are gone.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

WKR
I can't believe I'm going to say this, but, Bar is right. It's the movement, of you or of the deer that spooked the elk IF they spooked. They could have just moved in the time it took you to get there and had no idea you were anywhere in the area...

But in general, it's the movement that they will see. Movement is actually pretty easy to see when you are standing still, even with somewhat poor vision.

PF_JM

FNG