Tips for justifying spending on gear

I'm leaving for my first backcountry elk hunt in 10 days. At this point I'm well over a grand in gear spending, not including my tag. I really don't want to add it up. I thought it would be fun to post a few ways I've learned to justify my expenses. Others feel free to chime in your experience. :)
1. This will save me X amount of weight. (down pants, water filter, etc etc)
2. I can use this for years to come. (SO LBO BTB)
3. This will be necessary if my kids or wife ever come with me. (Lite Outdoors stove)
4. Comparison... I'm not spending as much as that guy.
5. Everyone else is doing it.
6. I work hard for a living and I only live once. (the whole trip itself)
7. It's better to have it and not need it than need it and not have it. (Back up boots)
8. This will be safer. (Inreach)
9. I have to have this if I kill an elk. (SO Brooks pack, meat bags, saw, etc and etc and etc)
10. I can always resell it later. (all of the above)
Unfortunately this is only a minor sampling of the gear I have purchased. Thank you to all the Rokslide fellas who have helped me through this process.

Mine's a lot more simple. If I will use it and, it justifies replacing what I was using, I buy it. I do look for better deals on clothing though. Meaning, I buy non camo'ed stuff often at 1/10th of the price as a hunting jacket, composed of the same material. Other than that, I buy gear based on what I need. It hurts sometimes too. Good luck and God Bless

twall13

WKR
I don't have a hard time justifying it to myself. I wouldn't buy it if I didn't feel it might improve my comfort or hunting experience, etc. I have a much harder time justifying things to my wife...

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

Stid2677

WKR
If it make my time outside more enjoyable, I will spend more time outside.... Say my 2000.00 tent for example.. One night 2K, 2 nights 1K a night,,,, so I have used it so much now, the cost is 10 bucks a night. Worth every dime....

muddydogs