Idaho rifle Elk 2019 ?s

fnf01

Lil-Rokslider
Hi all newbie here looking for any help you would be willing to give. I understand the common resistance to giving out hard-earned knowledge to people who have not done their fair share of research yet and I fully get that. In addition, I’m not asking for anyone’s honey hole just general guidance. If you’d rather send a PM by all means. Thanks to anyone who keeps reading.

Where I’m starting from.
My hunting partner and me are dead set on an elk hunt for 2019 (time to get in shape, then get in shape more). We’ll be coming out from WI, so limited to no opportunity to actually get out there to scout. We’ve narrowed it down to Idaho, 2019, rifle, OTC, antlered, 7-10days afield. We were thinking September but looks like the only units that fit are mid-late October. I'm a little worried because of the weather and accessibility concerns later in year for a couple green horns. If I'm mistaken about that and a later Oct-Nov hunt is feasible please let us know. We’d like a nice bull (wouldn’t we all) and are trying to find a unit with good odds to “stack the deck” and hopefully at least see something but understand the odds and would be satisfied to just spend time in the beauty of nature gaining experience for our next trip out. We are planning to hike a couple miles in (no horses, no bikes, no atv) and setting a camp to then hike from. We do not want to truck camp hunt. However we have basically no hiking or back country experience as of yet (that’s why 2019 not 2018). So we have a lot of very probably stupid sounding questions I can’t even find others on the internet asking, I’ll get to those lol.

What I’ve found: